top of page
  • Writer's pictureCandle Pen

The Journey from North to South: A Tale of Humanity

As usual, I woke up way ahead of dawn got myself prepared and prayed that traffic would not go against me. Got out of the house and thought to myself, this will be just like any other day. Another day with my inner most innate spirit having a human experience, cascading through the Earth’s horizons. Same old industrialized Manila. Hence, I was at the prelude of my adventure going down south to Chino Roces.


Hopped on the jeep and I was ready to go, good thing I left earlier than most of the people in Manila. Handed my payment over to the driver and said that I would be availing of the student discount. I was seated right at the polar end of the jeep so perhaps the driver didn’t hear what I said, however, an old lady did. Filled with the virtue of altruism, exuding the warmth of an aged Filipino, she willingly gave up her money for my discount, temporarily. She, then said, “ito anak oh, sukli mo.” And I said, “thank you.”


The point merely wasn’t about that one peso, it was something that I could have easily given up and gave to the driver. But it was the thought of one willing to sacrifice their comfort for the others. Perhaps she might have thought that a student commuter had a student allowance and every peso would count. This perhaps was not an ordinary day after all.


She ignited that principle within me that each human lives beyond just for themself. A human life is built up of an infinite set of points. Perhaps some points hold greater weights more than the others. With these points also intersect a myriad of different lives. One life will have to go beyond its usual trajectory just to meet with that certain point. At that instant, she was willing to go out of her means for me to become comfortable.


As I continued with my journey down south, I thought of how it would be like in class later. What new problems would we have to solve? What cases would need intervention? What slight and obvious comparisons will have to be made? The ordinary struggles of a student. But deep inside, there was always that part of me that felt the privilege of attaining education that would probably increase the likeliness of success. It was all worth it.


However, on the other side of my story of success was also another persona who was willing to sacrifice their comfort. And they were the teachers. Day after day, the ordinary that I have previously described had a more nuanced narrative. Perhaps, behind choosing to teach is a foregone dream of becoming a doctor, having a family, earning better wage, or enjoying an exclusive 8-hour work time.


Why choose this sacrifice, then? My inner romantic answered, “they choose it because there is beauty in it.” Perhaps caring for others while having second thoughts and iffy feelings of your personal ability to even care for yourself has in itself an ability to wake the humanity in us. If teachers weren’t there, just imagine a humanity that doesn’t learn from previous mistakes. A humanity that is ignorant and naïve of its history. A world that just doesn’t care about values and treating others well.


With the prevailing narrative that teaching may be just another ordinary day, perhaps the art and beauty in it is not realized by each beholder. The life of a teacher intersects with a multitude of different lives that entail shifting and adjusting. Perhaps, teachers may have journeyed down south to fulfill a less lucrative passion.


However, isn’t that the tale of humanity? Some would have to step down to help others rise up. For that, I am thankful to ­every teacher who has scooped me out of my lowest inclination and pushed me to be who I am and who I will be. That is the beauty of teaching – they have the heart to bring the best in every student.


Story by Patrick Gabriel Lo

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page