top of page
  • Writer's pictureCandle Pen

Resilience in the Ever-changing Educational Landscape of MHCS

In life, the pursuit for loyalty and strife is not to be taken under a soft light. It is armed with immense amounts of patience and consideration and in the end, blossoms into a character of inspiration. That is what Ms. Annabelle Alvero, MHCS Business Manager, proves to us through her living testimony as a MHCS staff.


“I started in Makati Hope on May of 1991, as a Business Office staff and I was also a PE teacher from Grade 1 to 2nd year (we called it High 2 back then) as well as ran the canteen during recess and sell catering chits during lunch,” Ms. Belle explained.


“I came into MHCS through my mother, Cecilia Chua. She was the preschool (now ECD) head at the time.”


According to her, there weren’t as many staff members in MHCS compared today, which is hard because members of the staff have to do many different things. “I had a lot of energy when I was younger, so I found a way to handle all of that,” she said when asked about a life-changhing moment in MHCS.


She also shared her struggles during the more than two decades in MHCS. “Seeing your friends and colleagues come and go. I’m the last of my batch of employees, so it always crossed my mind just how much time has passed,” she added.


“It’s hard to say for certain because so many things have happened in the past 28 years. Each one of those experiences has been life-changing in its [their] own little way.”


As an MHCS employee, she has learned to be resilient despite all the changes happening around her which includes being able to retain her integrity of character, her faith and her devotion to serving the students of the institution.


“MHCS has become my family – my extended family that crosses over so many years and generations of students and colleagues. It’s a very different MHCS from the one I started with in 1991. But, if we ever hope to abide by our school’s commitment of producing God-fearing, life-long learners who uphold the highest standards of harmony, excellence, integrity, resilience and stewardship, we would have to make some changes. Through all those changes, however, I still continue to see this place as my home and its people my family,” she continued.


Indeed, it is not in the superlatives of life that one attains their head-turning life experiences. It is through the constant struggles in everyday life that we may learn something that is salient enough to mold us into better people. The pursuit of life never is a solo journey, but a life in fellowship with others. Through Ms. Belle’s life, her constant pleasant aura and positive demeanor in accommodating members of the community truly shows a life lived to serve.


“If 28 years of service to this school has taught me anything, it’s that there’s no way of telling what the future holds for our school, and it can grow in very unexpected ways. But through all that, if such is the will of God, then we shall serve as well as we can,” she concludes.


Story by Patrick Lo



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page