top of page
  • Writer's pictureCandle Pen

Love on Christmas Day

Updated: Sep 1, 2022

“It is just a month before Christmas. Yet, I haven’t talked to my family about spending Christmas together,” Claire told herself while having coffee at a nearby cafe. She has not had contact with her family for five months.


As she was sipping her coffee, her best friend Ben enters the coffee shop and sits in front of her.


“Good morning, Claire! How are you doing?”


“Good morning, Ben. I’m fine, thank you, and you?”


“I’m doing great, quite busy with school work but yeah, I’m fine,” Ben said then sees Claire’s sad face. “Is there something wrong?”


“Yeah, I guess so.”


“Why don’t you tell me about it? Maybe I could help.”


“Thanks, it’s just that it is almost our Christmas break but I haven’t had communication with my family since I last saw them,” Claire said looking down on the table.


“Don’t worry. We will find a way for you to be able to spend this Christmas with them,” Ben reassured her.


“Thank you so much, Ben. I don’t know what I would do without you.”

Claire hugged Ben tightly while crying.


Two weeks later, it was their Christmas break. Claire was at her room reading her favorite book. She then recieves a text from Ben.


“Claire. My parents are going abroad for a business meeting and told me that I can spend Christmas with you and your family.”


Claire was surprised and happy to know such news.


“That’s great. I’m planning on traveling to Cebu with my family this weekend. You can come, I’m sure my family will be happy to see you.”


That weekend, Claire and Ben drove to Claire’s home in Pasig to fetch her family. On the way to the airport, Claire’s family was able to bond with Ben. When they got to Cebu, Ben asks Claire’s dad.


“Tito, I’ve been wanting to ask you if I could ask Claire to be my girlfriend. We’ve been friends since elementary and I’ve known Claire that much.”


“Ben, you know how much your Tita and I trust you with our daughter. We know how much you care for our daughter like how we would. So, I am allowing you to ask my daughter to be your girlfriend.”


Ben smiled knowing that Claire’s parents are allowing him to level up his relationship with Claire.


The night before Christmas, Ben plans for his proposal along with Claire’s family. He talks with her sister Gwen.


“Gwen, I’m planning to ask your sister to be my girlfriend at midnight.”


“Oh, I’m happy to know that my sister will have someone who will care for her whenever she is down.”


While having dinner, Claire, Ben, and her family are enjoying the time that they have together.


Five minutes before midnight, everyone sat down at the living room about to open their gifts.


“Guys, before we open our gifts, I have something to say,” Ben said.


“Sure, hijo,” Tito Rich said.


“Firstly, thank you so much for celebrating Christmas with me. I’m happy to know that I have a second family that I can go home to. Thank you so much to all of you for making this Christmas special for me since my parents aren’t with me this year. Claire, thank you for allowing me to join your family celebration this year. I’m happy to celebrate such occasion with all of you.”


Then, Ben knelt down on his knee and asked Claire.

“Claire, we’ve been friends since elementary and we’ve known each other very well. Will you be my girlfriend?”


Claire was surprised and looked at her parents; as they agreed, she looks back to Ben and said, “Yes! Thank you so much! I’m the happiest girl in this house.”


Ben stood up and hugged Claire as tight as he could.


“Thank you Claire for making my Christmas the most memorable moment of my life!”

As the clock struck 12, it was finally Christmas day. Ben and Claire were the happiest people that day.


As everyone went back to their own rooms, Ben and Claire stayed at the living room talking to each other.


“Ben, I’ve been dreaming about this moment all my life. You are my first boyfriend and hopefully my last as well. I still remember that day in high school when you would walk me home everyday because you were worried about me. I thank you so much for your concern towards me. I love you so much.”


“Claire, I’ve fallen for you since the first year of high school. I’ve never thought that we would get to this point where we are not just friends anymore. I’m surely the happiest boy today. When we get back, I’ll tell my parents about our relationship. I’m sure they will be happy that someone will finally remind me to do my work and study (laughs). I love you so much.”


Claire and Ben spent the entire break happily and as if no one was watching them. When they got back to school, their friends congratulated them. They were happy to have found their first love on Christmas day. The memorable moment in their lives.


Story by Patreece Tan

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page