top of page
  • Writer's pictureCandle Pen

Limos

“Ughhhhhhhhhhh!” the first words I mutter whilst entering my own house in the middle of the night. I felt tired, sleepy and extremely braindead as usual from my daily work routine.


Personally, I think I’m quite used it to it already due to my consistent sleeping or getting home from work schedule. The traffic is terrible, and so is the public transportation. Combine the amount of heat present in the climate and the amount of body heat and odor one can experience in the MRT, it’s definitely a hell train going home.


I put my laptop bag and sling bag that I usually carry beside me near the bed. My apartment isn’t as fantastic as one can imagine. It’s small compared to a “regular American home”, but it gets the job done am I not right?


Afterwards, I head towards the bathroom as I undress and bathe. The cool water flowing down really gets me in a good mood that sometimes, I just don’t want to turn the water off and sleep there for once. I don’t have a bathtub in my small apartment because it is quite expensive.


After I have changed into my usual old pajamas, I made my way to the sink to brush my teeth, then went straight to my bed. There, I collapsed like it was a swimming pool except it was free.


“Ugh, life is pain,” I muttered to myself as my face sank into one of my very comfortable pillows. I honestly didn’t want to get up and close the lights but I knew very well that electricity bills aren’t easy to pay. So I got up, closed the lights and collapsed once more on my bed.


If someone were to see me right now, I would probably be mistaken for a child because of my sleeping position. I was faced down towards my bed and my head literally sank down into the pillows.


I was ready to sleep. One, two, three, four, five, six, seven, eight, nine, ten, eleven, twelve, thirt-


“Oh crap!” I yelled. I may sound like a lunatic but that’s the phrase I usually say when I can’t sleep.


“Maybe I shouldn’t have ­taken too much caffeine.” I mean who wouldn’t want to take in caffeine anyways?


One can’t simply survive waking up at 3 am to get going to work at 4 am in the morning to line up for public transportation. Then go to work at 6 to 7 am up to 10 pm at night. Sometimes, even until 11 pm because of unfinished projects.


So there I was, five minutes later, staring at the cold and silent neighborhood.


“If only it was this cold when commuting and coming home,” I said to myself.


I stared into the deep night and still couldn’t sleep after 10 minutes! So, I had to do my usual routine for that.


I slowly got up, opened the lights, went to the fridge, got some drinks, went back into my room, and opened the TV.


“Simple yet deadly,” my inner conscience tells me. But honestly, what was I supposed to do? I still had one more day to go before my last day for the week and I need to finish all my audits and reviews for the company.


So I opened the bottle and drank while feeling regret. As I then made my way back to my room, I felt a little overwhelmed by the amount I drank and accidentally made a frame drop.


“Oh god, not another one...” I say as I started to pick the frame up. The glass that had kept the frame in was broken into ­pieces. I sighed and put the photo aside and quickly grabbed the broom and swept it towards the trashcan.


I then quickly came to the photo to see whether there was any damage. Suprisingly, there was none but as I looked at the picture, a whole sad history flashed in my eyes. I was breathless for a second and at the same time shocked in a happy yet sad manner.


Then I realized what I had actually broken was the one photo I drew of my family six years ago. Drawing was my hobby ever since I was young. I made realistic art ever since the age of six and those happy memories flashed back at me.


As I stared longer at the picture, I started to sob a little. There, I could see my wife and son who died in the fire in the old barangay that we lived in.


And after that moment, I knew I had to let the picture down.


Story by Ythan Sean Gloria

Continue to https://www.wattpad.com/776485576-limos-1

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page