top of page
  • Writer's pictureCandle Pen

Lifelong Learning: Passion & Commitment

A Candle Pen special with Marivic L. Daguio, Ph. D.


From her humble beginnings as an elementary teacher, it is undeniable that Dr. Daguio is a learnt woman. As she took office during the previous school year, she immediately set the tone for the school to welcome a mantra of lifelong learning.


Through her stay in office as the School Principal, it can be seen that each office has raised its bar to meet the standard of excellence and precision.


Life before teaching


“I had a short stint in Nursing before landing in the teaching profession. Compared with the abundance of career guidance and counselling available for high school nowadays, there was scarcity of this very important program during my time. Nursing was the most popular and the first course of choice by a significant number of high school graduates in the late 1980’s. The great demand for Filipino medical professionals in America, Europe and other parts of the world caught the attention of the dreamers. The lure of a better pay and the promise of improved quality of life abroad resulted to a mass exodus of medical professionals at that time. This was the context which made my mother strongly suggest for me to take up Nursing in college. The selective admission requirements which include a National College Admission Examination (NCAE) rating of at least 90% and the attractiveness of wearing white overalls challenged and convinced me to pursue this track.


Four years later, there was a turn of tide. Freeze hiring abroad for medical professionals made it to the news headlines. A nurse’s license and a curriculum vitae that displays a high board exam rating didn’t translate into a job opportunity immediately.


The less than a year’s practice in both public and private tertiary care centers brought me face-to-face with the harsh realities of a nurse’s life. The challenge of an 8-hour duty shift schedule that changes every two weeks brought havoc to my circadian rhythm and compromised my worship day as a Christian. This caused me to earnestly pray, “Lord, please bring me to a field that would allow me to go grow and attend church service every Sunday.” God heard my earnest prayer.”


Inspiration for teaching and the pursuit for further studies


“My younger sister is a teacher. In the latter half of 1990’s, there was a newspaper advertisement for a teaching job in a school located in Ayala Alabang. I coaxed her to apply secondary to the attractive job offer. Convinced that my qualifications better satisfy the requirements for the job post, she suggested, ‘Why don’t you apply?’ I found myself taking the examination and undergoing an interview. A few days later, I received an acceptance letter and shortly thereafter, I reported as a teacher trainee. That was the beginning of my journey as a teacher.”


At first, it (further studies) wasn’t a choice per se. The school directress during my first teaching job interview discussed the importance and the need for me to enroll and complete a certain number of education units and subsequently take the licensure examination for teachers. I completed the required units in two semesters during my first year of teaching and successfully secured a teacher’s license a year after.


The decision to pursue further studies came when I held the position of Science Department Coordinator here at Makati Hope Christian School. I felt the need to upgrade my competencies to become an effective teacher and a mentor. Prior to enrolling in formal graduate studies, intuition and personal beliefs informed my professional practice.


In 2004, a colleague in the department encouraged me to take a master’s course in Science Education at De La Salle University. This suggestion came based on her observation that some strategies I utilized closely resemble those that she was learning in graduate school. I’m glad to heed her advice. Prior knowledge, misconception, journaling, vignette and constructivism were big ideas that were hammered into my awareness in my three years study at DLSU. These concepts changed my perspective about teaching and learning.


About two years after my graduation from DLSU, the idea of pursuing doctoral studies was introduced by a UP Integrated School instructor who was conducting a series of Science teacher training in which I was a participant. He said emphatically that one of his life’s regrets was not aiming higher than M.A. His narrative and personal encouragement inspired me to try out at the University of the Philippines. Studying at UP presented numerous opportunities for me to analyze and apply sound theories and practice in Educational Administration. I’m grateful to my top-notch professors and classmates whose rich experience in educational leadership informed my practice as the Academic Head for Elementary and High School Department, a position I held for six years and currently as the School Principal of MHCS.


"Reflecting on my graduate study life’s journey, I am convinced that God has been directing my life for a specific purpose.”


Learning the best values


“Unique challenges and difficulties peppered my graduate student life in both universities (UP and DLSU). Self-discipline, hard work, perseverance and resilience - developed over the course of my academic studies, were crucial to achieving my goals.


Self-discipline is being able to say no to one thing for me to say yes to a more important thing. It helped me prioritize academic requirements over human tendencies e.g. leisure. It took a great deal of effort and emotional strength to satisfy the various demands of graduate studies and school leadership. The failures and difficulties I encountered along the way helped me persevere and endure. This was especially true when I prepared and defended my dissertation, a rigorous process that summoned my courage and developed resilience in me.


Never give up, no matter what. This is the most valuable lesson I’ve learned from pursuing graduate studies. Problems and difficulties are staple of life. I view them as opportunities designed to develop my character and strengthen my faith in God. When faced with a seemingly insurmountable obstacle, I will myself to remember the Lord’s promise: “So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand (Isaiah 41:10).”


Lifelong learning


Globalization is a concept recently embraced by the education sector. It requires students to have an awareness and understanding of various cultures - the values, beliefs, norms, symbols and traditions of people across the globe. This is to enable them to become culturally proficient individuals who can contribute meaningfully to the advancement of the global society. This contextual definition implies continuous learning.


At MHCS, the presence of international students is palpable. This brings challenges and opportunities to the school community. Understanding their unique culture may pave the way to identifying and ­responding to their needs effectively. In the same vein, ­foreign students are enjoined to learn and adapt to our school culture. A symbiotic relationship could contribute to an enriched 21st Century school culture where the 4 C’s – Communication, Collaboration, Critical-thinking and Creativity – prevail in academics and extracurricular activities. This is in line with the school’s mission to provide a holistic Christian education for students from different cultures. This necessitates continuous learning for the school to be truly responsive to the needs and challenges of the times.


Lifelong learning is the fundamental key to successfully navigate the global community. Advancement in ­Science, ­Technology, ­Engineering, and ­Mathematics (STEM) present challenges that demand constant ­human adaptation. This process is facilitated by the recognition that conventional methods of solving problems are no longer effective. ­Continuous ­learning is crucial to gain ­understanding of and appropriately respond to these challenges. This human endeavor is evident among life-long learners.


Lifelong learners are curious, creative, and resourceful. They tap on different sources of data and information to analyze and resolve problems. They leverage on social media to access research materials e.g. journals, to network with experts from different fields for valuable insights on social issues and policies and to solicit tools and materials for innovation. They reflect on their own and others’ experiences to inform their decisions and actions. They invest on their personal and professional development to become an agent of positive change. They display courage to ask difficult questions and challenge the status quo.


The complex and ever-changing world calls for lifelong learning. It entails passion and commitment to seek and understand.”


Indeed, Dr. Daguio is more than just an icon of leadership but also a woman who embodies empowerment within her. She serves as a living testament for the students and the staff of the school to never give up and be persistent on their goals.


Story by Patrick Lo


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page