top of page
  • Writer's pictureCandle Pen

Life Hacks During CET's

Taking College Entrance Tests (CETs) is a stressful and fearful experience to some but is necessary for all seniors who are aiming to get into their dream colleges. For all Grade 12 students, it is recommended that you review and apply as early as possible because there are road bumps along the way.


It was difficult for us reviewing for the CETs while balancing school work but we pulled through. All of us go to school on Friday knowing that we have an entrance test on Saturday. Others opted to review more the day before exam.


Applying for La Salle and UP are done online while in Ateneo, a printed copy needs to be submitted to the University. While applying, one will see many career paths and it’s quite overwhelming to decide something so important at such a young age.


But the key is to relax and choose something you enjoy. Part of the application is choosing the date and time. I would recommend Sunday. Choosing Saturday is quite a challenge since there are classes the day before it. What you need the day before the test is to rest or review.


It is best that you apply to as many schools so that you can have plenty of choices before graduating high school. It is better to have a choice than to look for new schools in case you failed your previous exams.


For me, the easiest to the most difficult entrance tests are in La Salle, then Ateneo and UP.


Things to be mindful of is time. Reading is easy but when there are so many things to read, it just becomes annoying and draining.


Remember to read the question first and try to skim the story for the answer. Choosing to read the entire text is a bad idea if you are a slow or average speed reader.


Make sure you have shaded the right circle. There were many times that I shaded the circle of the wrong number and had to backtrack to where I made the mistake.


Memorize formulas. There aren’t a lot of formulas so it should be easy.


Check the question and the paper you have. When I was writing my essay, the question was about privacy. I had just finished writing my conclusion and then turned the paper over as you do when you have finished a test. I realized a critical error one that scared me till this day. The essay had a second page. Writing a longer essay does not necessarily mean that it is better but I just felt that I could have done something. I couldn’t erase the essay because you are only allowed to use ballpens and no correction tape.


I still have not received my test results but I’m not worried. I’m sure a lot of my classmates aren’t because at the end of the day, it isn’t the schools that we go to that guarantee our success. It is entirely up to the individual to achieve that themselves.


So believe me when I say do your best and you will succeed no matter what.


Story by Jose Gabriel Orros

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page