top of page
  • Writer's pictureCandle Pen

Korean Girl in a Man’s World

Different families have different cultures. Some are traditional and a lot are modern.


Living in a modern age where technology is widely needed, I live under a very traditional roof. As a Korean, I have lots of rules to follow. But this definitely depends on your family, maybe I just got unlucky.


For decades, the women in my family were raised not to work but to serve. Starting from my great-great-grandmother, who was raised to serve whoever she was going to marry.


This is still continued to be passed on to me, the youngest girl in our extended family. Wives are commonly discouraged to work because working is a man’s job and earning money is their responsibility.


The females in my family are taught to cook meals, do laundry, clean households, greet our future husbands with respect and to take care of children. At a young age, I was already taught to do most of these things.


My grandmother and aunt were the ones who were teaching me, but as I grow older in this progressive world that we live in, I realized that I want to make something out of myself. I continue to practice Korean traditions but I know it isn’t something that I see myself doing. I can cook, clean and do my laundry but I surely will not serve any man.


If I can take care of myself, then I definitely can work to earn for myself. I want to build a career for myself. To find my success. I’ll never know the value of money if I don’t earn it with my own efforts.


This tradition has been ongoing for a lot of decades. Our world is fast changing, women can finally vote and work. This means there are still families who are stuck in the past. I don’t need a man to work to earn money for me.


For this, I look up to my mom.


She bent all the rules and traditions. She worked and built her own business. She worked day and night to provide for me without the need of a man.


She continues to tell me everyday that traditions are still traditions but we can start making new ones where we are taught to be independent.


No woman should serve a man.


The only man we are supposed to serve is God.


Since I am currently the youngest female in my family, I hope to build a new tradition wherein we practice empowering females and their success.


Story by Jisoo Yoo


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page