top of page
  • Writer's pictureCandle Pen

A New Journey for Mrs. Desiree Cooper

She has been serving Makati Hope Christian School for 20 years. She was the first to teach us how to use the computer. She is no other than our dear Teacher Des.


Teacher Desiree Cooper started as a girl who loved taking care of others. She would often babysit her nieces, nephews and occasionally, some neighborhood kids.


Her passion, however, did not play a part in her college course. She took a college degree far from teaching and started to work in the corporate world.


She became a Personnel Assistant in Human Resources Management Department in the St. Francis Group of Companies, then known as ASB Realty Corporation.


Her story doesn’t end there.God intervened in her life. Mrs. Desiree was invited to become a teacher in her church’s Sunday School. Once again, her passion for teaching was reignited.


With the advice of her churchmates, Mrs. Desiree earned her education units and was able to become a teacher. From that day on, she became known as Makati Hope Christian School’s very own Teacher Des. She has seen students come and go through the years.


“Even though teaching is a very tiring profession, it gives me joy and satisfaction when I see my students learning and displaying Christ-like character in their everyday lives,” Teacher Des said.


“I do love being with my students; they give me joy because of their love and affection to me as well.”


However, Teacher Des has been given a new path to take. She was blessed by a lifelong partner and has decided to stay with him in Australia.


“I am very thankful for all the years that I’ve spent here – I learned so many things here. There are ups and downs, heartaches, joy, challenges and fun in being a teacher and the Lord sustained me in all of those years and my heart is full during my stay here in Makati Hope.”


On behalf of the school, we thank you, Teacher Des, for your service. We hope that you continue with your passion and continue to inspire many. May God bless you in your future endeavours.


Have I not commanded you? Be strong and of good courage; do not be afraid, nor be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go (Joshua 1:9).


Story by Arianna Montagot

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page