top of page
  • Writer's pictureCandle Pen

A Christmas Story

Updated: Aug 26, 2022

It is just a month left before Christmas. Yet, I have spoken to my family about our plans of spending Christmas together but due to the pandemic, I started to think if I should go to the province to be with them but I was also worried that if I go home to them, they will have to stay away from me. Hana said to herself while having coffee while looking out the window of her apartment. Then she got her phone and saw that her best friend Mark was calling and so she answered it.


“Hi Hana, how are you?”


“I’m doing great. How are you doing?”


“I’m doing great also. Just busy with office work but yeah, I’m fine.”


“You sound like you have a problem. Is there something wrong?”


“Yeah, I guess so.”


“Why don’t you tell me about it? Maybe I can do something to help.”


“Thanks, it’s just that I have been thinking since there is only a month left before Christmas and it has been six months since I last saw my family, I wanted to celebrate this year with them but I don’t know if it is possible be- cause of the pandemic and travel restrictions.”


“Don’t worry about it, we will find a way for you to be able to spend it with them.” Mark assured Hana.


“Thank you so much Mark. I always get through my problems because of you.”


“I will always be here to help you.”


Then Hana ended the call and she quickly fixed the papers she will need for her planned trip back to Cebu to be with her family.


Two weeks later, Hana was just at her apartment packing her things for her trip to Cebu to be with her family. Then she got a message from Mark and she checked it.


“Claire, my parents are going abroad for an important business meeting and told me that I can spend Christmas with you and your family.”


As soon as Hana read the message, she was so happy to know such news.


“That’s great. I am actually planning on traveling to Cebu to be with my family by this weekend. You can come with me. I’m sure my family would be very happy to have you around and see you.”


That weekend, Mark drove to Claire’s apartment and picked her up. On the way to the airport, Hana and Mark were able to chat with each other and share stories with each other. When they arrived in Cebu, Mark and Hana went to change clothes first and wash up and Mark asked Hana’s dad.


Tito, I have been wanting to ask you if you I could ask Hana to be my girlfriend. We have been friends since middle school and I know her more than others do.”


“Mark, you know that I and your tita have trust in you with our daughter and we know how much you care for Hana as much as we do. So I am allowing you to ask Hana to be your girlfriend.”


Mark smiled knowing that Hana’s parents had trust in him and are allowing him to ask Hana to be his girlfriend. So the night before Christmas, Mark went to talk to Hana’s cousin Vanessa about the proposal.


“Vanessa, I’m planning of asking your cousin Hana to be my girlfriend at midnight.”

“It’s good that you asked the right person for help. I’m happy to know that someone will take care of her now.”


While having dinner, Hana, Mark and her family were enjoying the time they had together and Mark looked at his watch and it was five minutes before midnight. So everyone sat down at the living room to open their gifts.


“Everyone, before we open our gifts, I have something to say.”


“Sure hijo,” Tito Raymond said.


“I would like to thank you all so much for Christmas with me. I am happy to know that I have a second family to celebrate with and go home to. Claire, thank you for letting me join your family’s celebration this year. I’m happy to be able to celebrate such an occasion with all of you.”


Mark then knelt down on his knee and asked Hana who was standing in front of him.

“Hana, we have been friends since middle school and we have known each other very well. Will you be my girlfriend?”


Hana looked surprised and she looked at her parents and her parents nodded, and agreed. She faced back to Mark and said, “Yes! Thank you so much. You have just made me the happiest girl.”


Mark stood up and hugged Hana and everyone was so happy for us.


“Thank you Hana for making my Christmas this year the most memorable moment of my life!”

As the clock struck 12, it was finally Christmas day, Mark and Hana were the happiest people among everyone. Then everyone went back to their rooms while the two of them stayed in the living room.


“Mark, I’ve always been dreaming about this moment all my life. You are my first boyfriend and I am hoping my last. I still remember those times when you would walk me home every day because you were worried that something could happen to me. Thank you for your concern. I love you so much!”


“Hana, I’ve fallen in love with you since we were in first year high school. I’ve never thought that we would get this far in our relationship where we are no longer just friends anymore. You surely made me the happiest guy today. When we return to Manila, I will let my parents know about this. I love you so much.”


Hana and Mark spent Christmas and New year together happily and despite the pandemic, they were happy that they got to spend time together and with Hana’s family and also that they are finally a couple after being friends for so long. We returned back to Manila and I told my work mates about it and they started teasing me and they were happy for me as well. Mark’s parents were happy for the two of us as well and they were happy to know that we would be by each other’s side and promised to take care of each other.


Literature by Pearle Tan

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page